Community Site
HomeResults - Logs - FixturesWPRFU NewsThank a refClub InfoLinksSite infoChat ZoneSign In
WPRFU News > WPRFU Annual Awards big success

WPRFU Annual Awards big success

Dillyn Leyds was the big winner at the 2017 WPRFU Awards evening, claiming three awards at a ceremony held at the Cape Sun on Tuesday.

The versatile Leyds, who came back from injury this year to star for the DHL Stormers in three different positions before going on to make his Springbok debut, was named the adidas Most Valuable Player, BrightRock Senior Bounce Player of the Year, as well as claiming the Land Rover Composure and Capability Award.

Lock JD Schickerling walked away with the coveted DHL Players' Player of the year award.

The other senior awards saw DHL Stormers captain Siya Kolisi take the Land Rover Above and Beyond Award, with Schickerling the DHL WP Best Forward, Jano Vermaak the DHL WP Best Back, Jaco Coetzee the DHL WP Most Promising Senior Forward and Damian Willemse the DHL WP Most Promising Senior Back.

In the table-topping DHL Western Province U19 team, DHL WP U19 Best Forward was lock BJ Dixon and DHL WP U19 Best Back was centre Lyle Hendricks, with wing Christian Ambadiang named the DHL WP U19 Most Promising Player.

The DHL WP U21 Best Forward was captain Ernst van Rhyn and DHL WP U21 Best Back was flyhalf Tiaan Swanepoel, with centre Michaine Fick handed the DHL WP U21 Most Promising Player award.

BrightRock U19 Bounce Player of the Year was captain Salmaan Moerat and the BrightRock U21 Bounce Player of the Year was wing Duncan Saal.

Both DHL Western Province U19 and DHL Western Province U21 will contest semifinals on October 21, with the senior DHL Western Province team requiring a win against Cell C Sharks this weekend to secure a home Currie Cup semifinal.

Of course DHL Western Province went through the SuperSport Rugby Challenge unbeaten to claim the inaugural title earlier in the year, while there was also success for the DHL Western Province Women's team as they claimed the national title and had 12 players named in the SA Select squad to tour England.

The other individual awards saw Felicia Jacobs named DHL WP Women’s Player of the Year, Henco Martins the DHL WP School’s Player of the Year, Marius van der Westhuizen the DHL WP Referee of the Year and Tapiwa Tsomondo of False Bay the Club Rugby Player of the Year.

There were also certificates awarded to a number of amateur coaches who have come through the WPRFU High Performance coaching programme this year.

It has also been a vibrant year of club rugby, with quality rugby across the province drawing massive crowds in the different communities.

Maties have had the perfect season, going through Super League A and the Totalsports President's Cup unbeaten to take both titles, while False Bay and Tygerberg have both booked their spots in the Gold Cup quarterfinals this weekend.

WPRFU President, Mr Thelo Wakefield, said: “Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners – it was a privilege to be able to pay tribute to everyone, from the clubs right up to the professional players and all of whom have worked so hard and deserve their rewards.

“Tonight’s awards showcase the efforts that are being made to ensure that WP Rugby remains top across all levels and we wish our teams the best of luck in their respective competitions, as they all chase national titles.”

The event was well attended on the night with the DHL WP Currie Cup team present, along with other key sponsors, players (seniors, juniors and club players), administrators and the local rugby media.


  • DHL WP U19 Best Forward: BJ Dixon
  • DHL WP U19 Best Back: Lyle Hendricks
  • DHL WP U19 Most Promising Player: Christian Ambadiang
  • DHL WP U21 Best Forward: Ernst van Rhyn
  • DHL WP U21 Best Back: Tiaan Swanepoel
  • DHL WP U21 Most Promising Player: Michaine Fick
  • Land Rover Composure and Capability Award: Dillyn Leyds
  • Land Rover Above and Beyond Award: Siya Kolisi
  • BrightRock U19 Bounce Player of the Year: Salmaan Moerat
  • BrightRock U21 Bounce Player of the Year: Duncan Saal
  • BrightRock Senior Bounce Player of the Year: Dillyn Leyds
  • Adidas MVP Award: Dillyn Leyds
  • DHL WP Best Forward: JD Schickerling
  • DHL WP Best Back: Jano Vermaak
  • DHL WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Jaco Coetzee
  • DHL WP Most Promising Senior Back: Damian Willemse
  • DHL WP Women’s Player of the Year: Felicia Jacobs
  • DHL WP School’s Player of the Year: Henco Martins
  • DHL WP Referee of the Year: Marius van der Westhuizen
  • Club Rugby Player of the Year: Tapiwa Tsomondo
  • DHL Players Player of the Year: JD Schickerling

* Not only were WP Rugby’s professional players awarded individual trophies based on their performances throughout the 2016 season, but the Western Province Rugby Football Union also recognised all club, junior, female and referees’ performances within the union this past year.


  • Super League A: Maties
  • Super League B: St Georges
  • Super League C: Vineyards
  • Promotion League: Blue Jets
  • City League (First round): Manenberg Rangers
  • Northern League (First round): Blue Jets
  • Southern League (First round): Young Wesleys
  • Paarl League Winner: Allandale
  • Simonsberg League Winner: Morning Star
  • Sunday League: Tyume Stars
  • Women’s League: Union-Milnerton Women
  • City League (Second round): Silvertree
  • Northern League (Second round): Eersterivier
  • Southern League (Second round): Atlantis
  • Paarl Knockout: Riverstones
  • Super League A Under-20: Maties
  • Super League B Under-20: Helderberg
  • Super League C Under-20: Scottsdene Central
  • Presidents Cup (Super League A): Maties
  • Presidents Cup (Super League B): Hamlets
  • Presidents Cup (Super League C): Vineyards
Issued by WP Rugby


Bookmark or share this page to:Add to Yahoo Bookmarks Add to Facebook Add to Ask Add to Delicious Add to Twitter Add to StumbleUpon Add to MySpace Add to Google Bookmarks

News subscription

Sign in