Community Site
HomeResults - Logs - FixturesWPRFU NewsRefereesClub InfoLinksSite infoChat ZoneCoachingSign In

Stars shine at WPRFU Annual Awards

The WPRFU held its annual trophy presentation at the Cape Sun in Cape Town at a glittering event this past Tuesday.

As is always the case with this prestigious event, the rugby stars of DHL WP Rugby turned up in in their droves, ranging from all the club rugby league winners, best club rugby players, referees and DHL WP Rugby players including juniors and seniors.

The event was opened with a few words of encouragement and farewell from current WPRFU President Mr Thelo Wakefield who will end his term as President towards the end of this year.
The CEO of WP Rugby Mr Paul Zacks addressed the audience as the keynote speaker with great insight into the world of sport and the commercialization thereof. He went on to explain the need for unique strategic thinking and the several successes of WP Rugby during 2018.
The night saw several clubs receive trophies for winning their divisions with Maties claiming the title of Super League A champions yet again, Paarl winning Super League B and the Super League C title going to Maccasar.
In the divisions we saw the City League title won by Masiphumelele, The Southern League won by Morning Star and the Northern League won by Blue Stars United, while the Paarl Region was won by Albions.
Additional league trophies went to La Motte-Wanderers for winning the Simonsberg League, Dolphins the Sunday League and Busy Bees women’s rugby team for winning the women's club rugby division.
Other notable accolades in the WP Club Rugby space went to Maties captain Johan Momsen who was crowned as the WP Club Rugby player of the year.
In addition to player and league winner awards the Bella Roma shield for the club with the best disciplinary record went to Whistling Wheels.

News subscription

Sign in